© Kevin Fuchs / DBJR (CC-0)

News from our Blog

© UN Photo/Loey Felipe

At the Rio Summit 1992 young people have been recognized for the first time as a distinct group that is particularly affected by sustainable development issues.

Youth Delegates for Sustainable Development

Since the Earth Summit 2002 in Johannesburg (“Rio+10”) Youth Delegates are sent to the UN Commission on Sustainable Development by the German Federal Youth Council (DBJR) and the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU).

After Rio+20 the Commission was replaced by the High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development at the United Nations. The Youth Delegates give young people from Germany a voice there.

In order to do that the delegates are involved in a close exchange with children and young people. Over the course of events that take place regularly at schools, associations and various initiatives, they collect ideas, wishes and demands. At the same time, they share their experience and talk about how Germany progresses in implementing the Agenda 2030.

The Youth Delegates for Sustainable Development accompany the German government delegation led by the Federal Ministry for the Environment to the High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development (in short HLPF). This is where they represent the interests of young people in Germany to the world community.

Information for applicants
Applications can be submitted to the DBJR once a year, usually in autumn. The selection is made by the DBJR and the BMU. The delegation lasts two years. Applicants may not be older than 25 years. English spoken and written (fluent), strong communication skills and interest in international politics and sustainability are prerequisites. Political orientation is irrelevant. Experience in voluntary work, in committee and youth association work as well as in representation tasks is helpful. If you are interested or have any questions, please contact jugenddelegierte@dbjr.de .
© Kevin Fuchs / DBJR (CC-0)

The current Youth Delegates

008-191216_EVI2056-Jugenddelegierte-e-2
Sophia Bachmann
Jugenddelegierte für Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2019-2021

Education for Sustainable Development, gender justice and anti-fascism are the topics that particularly move Sophia. She has her associational roots in the German Scout Association Deutsche Pfadfinderschaft Sankt Georg; during her studies she began to get involved with the NaturfreundeJugend of Thuringia. She is currently studying Social Sciences and Economics in her Bachelor’s degree in Erfurt.

portrait
Felix Kaminski
Jugenddelegierter für Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2018-2020

Eradication of poverty and social injustice within and among states as well as a consistent energy transition to combat climate change are Felix’s main topics. He was involved in various jobs in youth participation and is actively engaged at the young socialists. Felix completed a cooperative study program in industrial engineering and is now studying Sustainable Electricity Supply at the University of Stuttgart in a master’s programme.

Our Work

In September 2015 the Agenda 2030 was voted during the UN General Assembly. The Agenda consists of 17 Sustainable Development Goals which the world community wants to achieve by the year 2030.

The progress is assessed annually during the High-level Political Forum (HLPF).

The Youth Delegates are part of a delegation of the Federal Government and represent young people from Germany in this body. During their days in New York City, they work together with the Federal Ministry for the Environment (BMU). Together with Youth Delegates from other states they also formulate expectations that young people have of governments and the United Nations.

In this context they also cooperate with Major Group for Children and Youth, which is representing global interests of young people at the United Nations.

Moreover, the delegates visit, in agreement with the Federal Ministry for the Environment, conferences and summits on other related issues, such as the UNEA and PAGE conferences.

Die Jugenddelegierten geben den jungen Menschen bei den Vereinten Nationen eine Stimme.

The Youth Delegates at the HLPF in New York City 2018

Rebecca Freitag berichtet über die UN und ihre Nachhaltigkeitsziele bei einer BUNDjugend- Versammlung.

Rebecca Freitag provides insights about the UN and the Sustainable Development Goals at a BUNDjugend meeting.

We travel around Germany throughout the whole year to enter into dialogue with young people. We report on the international sustainability goals and the German way of implementing them. At the same time, we also collect your demands, wishes and criticisms which we will express in New York City.

© pixabay.com

The 17 SDGs

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are political objectives of the United Nations that are meant to safeguard sustainable development on an economic, social and ecological level. The goals entered into force on the 1st of January 2016, covering the period of 15 years. This means that all goals are to be achieved by the year 2030.

In contrast to the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), which especially applied to developing countries, the SDGs apply to all states.

Youth and the SDGs

The German Federal Government has ratified the agenda 2030 with its 17 Sustainable Development Goals in parliament, which means Germany has explicitly set itself the goal to implement the agenda by 2030.

This is the reason why we consider the knowledge of this agenda and the ambitious goals a powerful tool, especially for young people, to remind politicians of their responsibility.

Many youth organizations already now work and argue using the Sustainable Development Goals.

Gruppenfoto von Jugenddelegierte aus ganz Europa mit SDG Schildern.

Young people from all over Europe are advocating the SDGs.

© unsplash.com / Miriam Espacio

Contact

[recaptcha]

jugenddelegierte@dbjr.de

Deutscher Bundesjugendring
Mühlendamm 3
10178 Berlin

© Kristoffer Schwetje Fotografie

Neues von unserem Blog

jd@kristoffer-schwetje-cc-by-sa-WEB
Felix ist neuer Jugenddelegierter

Ich freue mich total, dass ich als Jugenddelegierter für nachhaltige Entwicklung ausgewählt wurde! Rebecca und ich werden diesen Blog hier…

© UN Photo/Loey Felipe
Beim Rio-Gipfel 1992 wurde zum ersten Mal Jugend als eigene Gruppe, die von Fragen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung besonders betroffen ist, anerkannt.

Das Jugenddelegierten-Programm

Seit dem Weltgipfel in Johannesburg 2002 („Rio+10“) entsenden der Deutsche Bundesjugendring (DBJR) und das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) Jugenddelegierte zur UN-Kommission für Nachhaltige Entwicklung.

Nach Rio+20 wurde die Kommission durch das Hochrangige Politische Forum für Nachhaltige Entwicklung bei den Vereinten Nationen abgelöst. Die Jugenddelegierten geben als Teil der deutschen Delegation jungen Menschen aus Deutschland dort eine Stimme.

Dafür stehen sie im engen Austausch mit Kindern und Jugendlichen. Auf regelmäßigen Veranstaltungen in Schulen, Vereinen und verschiedenen Initiativen sammeln sie Ideen, Wünsche und Forderungen. Gleichzeitig berichten sie von Ihren Erfahrungen und dem Fortschritt Deutschlands bei der Umsetzung der 2030-Agenda.

Die Jugenddelegierten für Nachhaltige Entwicklung begleiten die deutsche Regierungsdelegation unter Leitung des Umweltministeriums zum Hochrangigen Politischen Forum für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (engl. High Level Political Forum for Sustainable Development, kurz HLPF) der UN. Dort vertreten sie die Interessen von jungen Menschen aus Deutschland vor der Weltgemeinschaft.
© Kristoffer Schwetje Fotografie

Die aktuellen Jugenddelegierten

becky2_web
Rebecca Freitag
Jugenddelegierte für Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2017-2019

Klimaschutz, Fahrradfahren und erneuerbare Energien sind die Themen, die Rebecca besonders am Herzen liegen.
Sie engagiert sich seit langem bei der BUNDjugend Berlin z.B. im Vorstand. Außerdem gründete sie den Mobilitäts-Arbeitskreis „Fahrrad-Bande“ mit, der den Volksentscheid Fahrrad unterstütze. Sie studiert im Master Integrated Natural Resource Management in Berlin und arbeitet als studentische Hilfskraft beim BEE. 

portrait
Felix Kaminski
Jugenddelegierter für Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2018-2020

Die Überwindung von Armut und sozialer Ungerechtigkeiten zwischen und innerhalb verschiedener Staaten sowie eine konsequente Umsetzung der Energiewende zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels sind Felix‘ Schwerpunktthemen. Er engagierte sich an verschiedenen Stellen in der Jugendarbeit und ist aktiv bei den Jusos. Felix absolvierte zunächst ein duales Studium und studiert nun Nachhaltige Elektrische Energieversorgung an der Universität Stuttgart im Master.

Unsere Arbeit

Im September 2015 wurde während der UN Generalversammlung die 2030 Agenda beschlossen. Diese beinhaltet 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele (Sustainable Development Goals), die die Weltgemeinschaft bis zum Jahr 2030 erreichen möchte.

Der Fortschritt dieser Verpflichtungen wird jährlich während des HLPF-Treffens überprüft.

Die Jugenddelegierten sind Teil einer Delegation der Bundesregierung und vertreten junge Menschen aus Deutschland in diesem Gremium. Sie arbeiten während der Tage in New York mit dem BMU zusammen. Zugleich formulieren sie mit Jugenddelegierten aus anderen Staaten Erwartungen an die Regierungen und die Vereinten Nationen.

Dabei arbeiten sie auch mit der Major Group for Children and Youth zusammen, die die globale Interessen junger Menschen vor den Vereinten Nationen vertritt.

Des Weiteren besuchen sie nach Absprache mit dem Bundesumweltministerium weitere themennahe Konferenzen und Gipfel, wie z. B. die UNEA und PAGE-Konferenzen.

Die Jugenddelegierten geben den jungen Menschen bei den Vereinten Nationen eine Stimme.

Die Jugenddelegierten auf dem HLPF in New York 2018

Rebecca Freitag berichtet über die UN und ihre Nachhaltigkeitsziele bei einer BUNDjugend- Versammlung.

Rebecca Freitag berichtet über die UN und ihre Nachhaltigkeitsziele bei einer BUNDjugend- Versammlung.

In Deutschland sind wir das ganze Jahr über unterwegs, um mit jungen Menschen in den Dialog zu treten, ihnen über die internationalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele und die deutsche Umsetzung zu berichten. Gleichzeitig sammeln wir Eure Forderungen, Wünsche und Kritik ein, um diese in New York einzubringen.

© pixabay.com

Die 17 SDGs

Die 17 Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung sind politische Zielsetzungen der Vereinten Nationen, die der Sicherung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung auf ökonomischer, sozialer sowie ökologischer Ebene dienen sollen. Die Ziele traten am 1. Januar 2016 mit einer Laufzeit von 15 Jahren in Kraft, das heißt bis zum Jahre 2030 sollen alle Ziele erreicht seien.

Im Unterschied zu den MDGs, die insbesondere Entwicklungsländern galten, gelten die SDGs für alle Staaten.

Jugend und die SDGs

Die deutsche Bundesregierung hat die 2030 Agenda mit ihren 17 nachhaltigen Entwicklungszielen im Bundestag ratifiziert, das heißt es ist ganz dezidiert das Ziel Deutschlands die Agenda bis zum Jahr 2030 umzusetzen.
Deswegen halten wir das Wissen über die Agenda und die ehrgeizigen Ziele für ein unglaublich mächtiges Instrument gerade für junge Menschen um Politiker*innen an ihre Verantwortung zu erinnern.
Viele Jugendverbände arbeiten und argumentieren bereits jetzt mit den nachhaltigen Entwicklungszielen.
Gruppenfoto von Jugenddelegierte aus ganz Europa mit SDG Schildern.

Junge Menschen aus ganz Europa machen sich für die SDGs stark.

© unsplash.com / Miriam Espacio

Kontakt

[recaptcha]

jugenddelegierte@dbjr.de

Deutscher Bundesjugendring
Mühlendamm 3
10178 Berlin